craigdurling.com

Some random thoughts…

Ahhh…my new old iPhone…

I downloaded Version 2.0 for my iPhone early this morning but didn’t expect that my phone would be dead for the next three and a half hours!  After checking with a few chatrooms, the popular opinion was that Apple’s servers were jammed with people downloading the new software update.  That made sense to me and I felt better, still periodically glancing at my “iBrick” to check for any signs of life.  Then, after what seemed like an eternity, it came alive and spent the next several minutes reloading all of my preferences, music, contacts, etc. which had been backed up prior to the update (thank GOD!).

I must say, the new iStore is something else.  I’ve already downloaded several completely useless applications (free, of course) as well as what will no doubt prove to be some very useful ones.  The first thing I downloaded was something I saw Leo Laporte try out during his 24-your live coverage of the global 3G iPhone release.   Being a true geek, I downloaded “Phone Saber”.  Got it yet?  I’ll wait….ok.  Time’s up.  It turns your iPhone into a light saber a la “Star Wars”.  Very goofy but extremely clever – turn it on and little light saber appears on the screen of your iPhone.  Choose from any of five colors for the “blade” and it comes to life.  Complete with realistic (as realistic as light sabers go anyway) sound effects, this free program uses the accelerometer built into the iPhone to detect movement and changes the sound effects  accordingly.   Like anyone who took the time to download this app, I too stood with my Phone Saber simulating a battle with Darth Vader himself, enjoying the little simulator.  Alright, I sat at my desk and flicked it around a bit.  It was still kinda fun.

Feeling myself getting a little dumber, I extinguished my saber and downloaded several other free apps such as a Yellow Pages, weather, Ebay, Twitter, etc. which I look forward to using.  There are hundreds of apps already available in the iStore, most of which are only around ten dollars if not completely free.

I think the best part of this software update for is I finally look forward to using my iPhone again.  The novelty had worn off from when I first bought it last year and now I have new hope that it will only get better with the availability of third party apps.  I agree with Leo Laporte’s assessment that if you’ve already got an older iPhone, there aren’t many reasons to go out and buy a new 3g phone.  Sure there are some nice features I wouldn’t mind using but I think I’ll give my old clunker another shot.  After all, I paid $400 for it only a year ago!

July 12, 2008 - Posted by | Photography

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

