craigdurling.com

Some random thoughts…

Home for Christmas and Grateful for Plenty.

It’s Christmas day and I’m sitting in a recliner at my parents’ house watching the Lakers play the Celtics with the folks. Just taking a moment to wish all of you a very Merry Christmas. I’m fortunate enough to have people in my life that make me a better person. You know who you are.

Of course, I’m grateful to have my health and wonderful friends and family. I’m also very grateful for the talented group of people who I’ve been so fortunate to meet this past year since launching my podcast. I first came up with the idea to produce a photography related podcast around June. After researching the business of podcasting, and becoming a loyal listener of Leo Laporte I learned that you should find a “niche”. There are plenty of photography podcasts out there so I had to narrow it down. Having been a fire/emergency services photographer for the past 20 years, it was pretty clear what my “niche” would be. I knew there were fire photographers on the west coast. I knew they were on the east coast. I figured there must be some in between. I also knew there wasn’t nor had there ever been a show just for us. Well, with twenty one episodes done, I must say I’m impressed. It hadn’t crossed my mind that there were, nor would I be able to reach, so many fellow fire photographers around the world. I’m also impressed by the outpouring of interest and participation by listeners – fellow photographers who have shared their time, talent, experience and passion with me throughout the series. For that I thank all of you. This is as much your show as it is mine. I figure I’m just the lucky guy who has the microphone and starts the conversation. So I wanted to take this time to thank you. Thank you for your time, your interest, your participation and your willingness to share what you know with others. I couldn’t do the show without you. When I think there’s no one listening, there’s nothing to talk about, or I just don’t feel like recording a show – you’re there. Every time I get an email, question, topic idea or just an “atta boy” from a listener, I emerge re-energized. It makes all the time and effort worth it and I’m happy to do it.

Last but not least, thanks to my co-host and good friend, Ross “A.” Benson, for his friendship, support, patience and uncanny ability to fill in the blanks and dead air when I lose my train of thought or just plain run out of stuff to say. I can’t thank you enough buddy.

Well, I fly back to LA tomorrow. I’ll miss the family and friends I’ve been able to catch up with while home in Boston. I even got to make some new friends while here. It was certainly nice to be able to get back and the snow on the ground made it that much more special.

Well, back to the game. Stay safe out there! MERRY CHRISTMAS!

December 25, 2008 Posted by | Photography, Podcasting | 1 Comment